One year after Plastic Anniversary, Baltimore-based duo Matmos have released a new album called The Consuming Flame: Open Exercises in Group Form which is out now via Thrill Jockey. It features Oneontrix Point Never, Yo La Tengo, Giant Swan, Marisa Anderson and more, all synchronised at a steady tempo of 99 beats per minute.

Oriented around a deceptively simple idea, the album features contributions from 99 different musicians,  all given only one simple instruction: they could play anything that they wanted, but the tempo of any rhythmic material had to be set at 99 beats per minute. The resulting album is a three-hour long assemblage that travels across a shifting kaleidoscope of genre, mood and density, all synchronized to a constant underlying tempo.

Listen below.