We introduced different times Norwegian singer-songwriter and musician Siv Jakobsen. Three years after The Nordic Mellow, she announced the release of a new album. A Temporary Soothing is out on August 21st via U OK?.  It’s produced by Chris Bond (Ben Howard, Nick Mulvey), and mixed by Zach Hanson (Bon Iver, Tallest Man on Earth). We already shared “Fear the Fear” and “Island“; “Anywhere Else” is a new excerpt. Listen below and check the playlist of five songs which inspired her new album.

Anywhere Else’ is a song about anxiety. Not the panicky, all-consuming kind that often results in a severe physical reaction, but a smoldering and quiet sort of anxiety, a sort of uncomfortable buzzing in the body that never quite leaves you be. It took me many years to understand that this also is a form of anxiety. It can be relatively quiet, but it’s there – always.  
“This has had me in a soft grip for a long while, and I wrote ‘Anywhere Else’ before I understood what it really was that I was experiencing. I thought it was normal to feel a bubbling sense of fear almost all the time. It can make me have a hard time deciding seemingly small things like what I’m going to eat, where I’m going to go on a walk, what coffee shop I’m going to go to, what I should wear, what I should do with my day, etc.”