Two years after Lover Chanting EP and 2019’s “Tongue Kissing”Swedish band Little Dragon (vocalist Yukimi Nagano, multi-instrumentalists Håkan Wirenstarnd and Fredrik Wallin on keyboards and bass respectively and Erik Bodin on drums and percussion) announced the release of a new album. New Me, Same Us is out on March 27th via Ninja Tune. The artwork is produced by award-winning Swedish director, producer, screenwriter, and animator Johannes Nyholm.

According to the press release, Entirely self-produced and recorded at their long-term home-built studio in Gothenburg, New Me, Same Us represents another chapter in the continuing evolution of Little Dragon, finding a new direction in their unique style of unhurried, off-kilter R’n’B, pop and electronics, they sound as rejuvenated and energized as ever. The record also finds them in a reflective mood, Yukimi’s distinctive vocals musing on transitions, longing, and saying goodbye. “We are all on our own personal journeys,” they say, “full of change, yet still we stand united with stories we believe in, that make us who we are.

Hold On” is the first excerpt and it is a message about breaking away and moving on. Listen below.