Ishmael Ensemble is the project of multi-instrumentalist, producer and DJ Pete Cunningham. The band feature Jake Spurgeon (modular synth, keys, sarod), Yazz Ahmed (flugelhorn), Ross Hughes (bass clarinet, alto flute), Rory O’Gorman (drums), Stephen Mullins (guitar), Jackson Lapes (percussion).

Influences flow freely too, ranging from Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Radiohead, Mahavishnu Orchestra and Roni Size/Reprazent, to the ambience of Yellow Magic Orchestra’s Haruomi Hosono and Ryuichi Sakamoto.

After the vinyl trilogy inspired by Bristol, he announced the release of the first full-lenght. A State Of Flow is out on May 3rd via Severn Songs records. “Lapwing” is the first excerpt. Listen below.