Forest of Shadows are the Swedish the doom metal band lead by Niclas Frohagen. Ten years after Six Waves of Woe, they’re back with a new album. Among the Dormant Watchers is out now via Inverse Records. “Droned by Guilt” is the first excerpt which shows the trembling and the dark sound. His words about the album and the track:

“Among the Dormant Watchers” is the third full-length album from Forest of Shadows and it picks up where “Six Waves of Woe” left. Being in production for almost 10 years it has been influenced by a wide range of musical experiences. This can be heard on top of the musical fundament that has been even more cemented on this album with its slow paced, folk music inspired, melody-driven metal.

Drowned by Guilt” is the first single from the album and it’s a classic “Forest of Shadows” song with long instrumental passages that builds up to crescendos of layered guitars and screamed vocals. On top of the classic sound you can hear inspiration from post rock and progressive rock. The lyrics are inspired by a nightmare where I found myself drowning and then from a third person perspective saw my dead body being dragged out of the water by grieving close ones.