Three years after self-produced debut album The Deal, Irish London-based musician Phil Cosby has announced the release of a new ep. Blue Daze is out this October. For the recording of ‘Blue Daze’, Cosby assembled a band of notable musicians. On bass – Simon Edwards (Talk Talk), keys – Mikey Rowe (David Gilmour), on drums – Malcolm Catto (DJ Shadow, Floating Points) and Martyn Barker (Goldfrapp).

It sees Cosby effortlessly drawing on late 70s/ early 80s youth nostalgia, resulting in a truly immersive soundscape. Collectively the five tracks juxtapose themes of hope and loss over powerful, melodic rhythms. He details the EP: “I took inspiration from the Tangerine Dream track – Love On A Real Train, heard in the 80s movie Risky Business. The track’s evocative and unique quality sparked my interest in nostalgia, and the idea that this emotion in music, might be more than just a ‘time and place’ association personal to the listener – that certain music has in itself a nostalgic quality.

We have the pleasure to premiere the stunning instrumental track “Start Rider” that shows the minimal lines of the sound, the evocative vibes and an high level of intimacy.

Set in a sci-fi realm this high octane track presents a brutal evaluation of stardom, where hopes and dreams meet trial by life. With merciless intensity the track builds towards an uncontrollable climax, finally exploding into the wonder of space. Leaving the world we know, our protagonist is at last free.

On drums Malcolm Catto (The Heliocentrics, DJ Shadow, Floating Points, Madilb) lays down a groove reminiscent of the late Jaki Liebezeit of Can.

Watch also the video of the previous single “The Days We Were Young“.